BBC Top 100 book list

Apparently the BBC believes most people will have only read 6 of the 100 books on the BBC big read top 100 book list.

How do your reading habits stack up? I cant for the life of me unbold this so I’m going to go for pink! So if its bold ignore it, if its bold and pink I read it if its pink I read it. Sound good? great?

1 Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
2 The Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien – I was way to young when I read this I dont even remember it. I was like eight.
3 Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
4 Harry Potter series – JK Rowling. I am proud to say I read the last book backwards
5 To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee –  a friend from highschool was bitching about having to read this and I didnt have to so I read it.
6 The Bible. Its halfl pink because I’ve only read half of it.
7 Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte. Again I was young when I read this but it is referenced to in Twilight New Moon so perhaps I’ll pick it up again
8 Nineteen Eighty Four – George Orwell
9 His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman
10 Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
11 Little Women – Louisa M Alcott. Its such a sweet book
12 Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy. Only half pink because I think I have read it but I cant quite remember it sounds familiar though.
13 Catch 22 – Joseph Heller
14 Complete Works of Shakespeare
15 Rebecca – Daphne Du Maurier
16 The Hobbit – JRR Tolkien I read this around the same time as LOTR again way to young.
17 Birdsong – Sebastian Faulk
18 Catcher in the Rye – JD Salinger
19 The Time Traveller’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger  Half way through reading this now but I dont take it to work. Its one that needs full on concentration
20 Middlemarch – George Eliot
21 Gone With The Wind – Margaret Mitchell
22 The Great Gatsby – F Scott Fitzgerald
23 Bleak House – Charles Dickens
24 War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy
25 The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams.
26 Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh
27 Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
28 Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck
29 Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll.  Its being made into a movie by Tim Burton! Excited for that
30 The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame
31 Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
32 David Copperfield – Charles Dickens
33 Chronicles of Narnia – CS Lewis
34 Emma – Jane Austen
35 Persuasion – Jane Austen
36 The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe – CS Lewis
37 The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
38 Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis De Bernieres
39 Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden
40 Winnie the Pooh – AA Milne
41 Animal Farm – George Orwell
42 The Da Vinci Code – Dan Brown. The movie makes more sense if you read the book.
43 One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
44 A Prayer for Owen Meany – John Irving
45 The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins
46 Anne of Green Gables – LM Montgomery. Read in primary/intermediate school
47 Far From The Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy
48 The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood. Llove this book! I read it in highs chool it was amazing how relevant it was. I have the dvd on pre-order.
49 Lord of the Flies – William Golding. Read it in primary school which is a little odd
50 Atonement – Ian McEwan
51 Life of Pi – Yann Martel
52 Dune – Frank Herbert
53 Cold Comfort Farm – Stella Gibbons
54 Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen
55 A Suitable Boy – Vikram Seth
56 The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zifon
57 A Tale Of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
58 Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
59 The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time – Mark Haddon
60 Love In The Time Of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
61 Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck
62 Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
63 The Secret History – Donna Tartt
64 The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold Only half read. I got given it for my 21st. I really should finish it
65 Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
66 On The Road – Jack Kerouac
67 Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy
68 Bridget Jones’s Diary – Helen Fielding. Its really boring.
69 Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie
70 Moby Dick – Herman Melville
71 Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens
72 Dracula – Bram Stoker
73 The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett
. Such a good book.
74 Notes From A Small Island – Bill Bryson
75 Ulysses – James Joyce
76 The Inferno – Dante
77 Swallows and Amazons – Arthur Ransome
78 Germinal – Emile Zola
79 Vanity Fair – William Makepeace Thackeray (I actually thought this was the magazine! I had no idea it was a book oops)
80 Possession – AS Byatt
81 A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens
82 Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell
83 The Color Purple – Alice Walker
84 The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro
85 Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert
86 A Fine Balance – Rohinton Mistry
87 Charlotte’s Web – EB White
88 The Five People You Meet In Heaven – Mitch Albom
89 Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
90 The Faraway Tree Collection – Enid Blyton
91 Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad
92 The Little Prince – Antoine De Saint-Exupery
93 The Wasp Factory – Iain Banks
94 Watership Down – Richard Adams
95 A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole
96 A Town Like Alice – Nevil Shute
97 The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas
98 Hamlet – William Shakespeare
99 Charlie and the Chocolate Factoy – Roald Dahl

100 Les Miserables – Victor Hugo.

hmm.. I’ve read 21 of them. Yeah I included the half ones I havent finished. Theres quite a few I want to read actually cool.

Love n hugs

me

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “BBC Top 100 book list”

  1. misguided mommy Says:

    I’m embarrassed to say I’ve only read 12. I feel inadequate now.

    people have been saying they are having trouble adding me to their readers…make sure you are adding
    http://www.misguidedmommy.com/feed

    • masachisticlamb Says:

      I keep forgetting I can do this cool reply thing!!

      Dont be embarrased some of the books on the list arent everyones cup of tea.

      I have you added to my reader I just had no computer and when I did I was too lazy to comment. I admit it Googlereader makes me lazy. I am sorry. This weekend I will make it to your blog IN PERSON

  2. widdleshamrock Says:

    I have decided to read them from start to finish.

    I sometimes wonder if lists like that are put out to challenge people.

    • masachisticlamb Says:

      Perhaps the list is there as a conversation point? We could sound rather worldy and intelligent “So have you read Tolstoys War and Peace?” Then you can launch on from there. Dont try that with me as I have not read it.

      I just spent $100.00 on books Oh and one tree hill season one! I’m such a book nerd. For easter Dads buying me that new Jodi Piccult book wee!!

  3. Scott Says:

    Shame on me–I’ve only read six, on the list! Mine are “Animal Farm”, “Lord of the Flies”, “Brave New World”, “A Christmas Carol”, “Charlotte’s Web”–and “Catcher in the Rye” (the funniest, most wonderful book I’ve ever read, in my life)! And, having attended a Christian school for nine years (at which “Bible” was a daily class), I’ve probably read far more of the Bible than most people have.

    In fairness to myself, however, I’ve read many books that are not on the list–though I feel they should be (Twain’s “Huckleberry Finn”; Joyce’s “A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man”; Faulkner’s “The Sound and the Fury,” “Light in August”, and “Absalom, Absalom!”; Fowles’ “The Collector” and “A Maggot”; Remarque’s “All Quiet on the Western Front”, Nietzche’s “Thus Spake Zarathustra”, just to name a few).

    I mention this not so much to brag as to point out that anyone’s (or any organization’s) “best” list is biased, including mine. And though I have far more respect for the BBC than any American network, its list is no exception.

    There is no “best”–of anything! Because “best” is a totally subjective term!

Leave a Reply

